Commonwealth Writers Prizes Open For Entry

The Commonwealth Book Prize and the Commonwealth Short Story Prize are now open for entry.

These two annual prizes give writers the chance to be recognised and read more widely across the world, and also act as catalysts to create environments where writers in places with limited or no publishing infrastructure, can flourish. As before, this year’s judges come from all regions of the Commonwealth and include Razia Iqbal as Chair of the Short Story Prize and Godfrey Smith, as Chair of the Book Prize.  For more information and the full list of judges, please visit the Commonwealth Writers website.


Translated and Self-Published Works Eligible for the First Time

This year, Commonwealth Writers has expanded the breadth of the Prizes to include stories and books in translation and self-published books from all Commonwealth countries, opening up to those who are writing in a language other than English. Lucy Hannah, Programme Manager at the Commonwealth Foundation says, “This year’s exciting expansion of the Prizes gives even more writers the chance to be heard. It also brings a greater diversity of stories from all parts of the world to Commonwealth Writers’ growing international readership.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s